Mordor and other things

It’s been a long time since I’ve blogged or even written regularly so both Blogging 101 and Writing 101 seemed like a great way to jumpstart my return. I choose to write because it frees me. Writing is my outlet for extreme emotions whether it’s the joy of finally achieving one of my goals, seeing my loved ones after months apart or the impotent rage that come with the loss of a loved one to terminal illness, ultimately, writing is an escape. Something I consider a healthy coping mechanism and better alternative to past methods. It’s what has helped me accept myself for who I am.

Who am I? I am a massive fan of all things LoTR, Doctor Who, anime, manga, K-Pop (and occasionally pop of the J variety). I am a woman of color and in recovery from an eating disorder for nearly five years. Due to my upbringing this is somewhat difficult to admit but personal Mordor for years has been that I’ve questioned my sexuality. And that I am also a Christian. Reconciling the two has been difficult to say the least, and I may lose out on potential readers for revealing those last two facts, but I’ve found that I just can’t hold it in any longer. Essentially writing and blogging both allow me a safe place where I can be myself without fear of reprisal.

Want to know more?

One thought on “Mordor and other things

Leave a Reply

